Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

17829378

Awakening

by Shannon Duffy 

Release Date: 04/07/15

Publisher: Entangled Teen

Summary from Goodreads:

A thrilling, futuristic sci-fi novel set in a unique and thought-provoking world, from author Shannon Duffy.

Desiree Six (because she was born on a Friday) believes in everything the Protectorate stands for. She likes the safety and security of having her entire life planned out—her career, her mate, even the date of her death. She doesn’t even think to question when Darien, her childhood friend and neighbor, is convicted of murdering his parents. They had seemed like such a loving family. But if he was convicted, then he must have done it.

Then Darien shows up in her room late one night. He has escaped from the Terrorscape—a nightmare machine used to punish all Noncompliants—and needs Desiree’s help. What he tells her rocks her world to its core and makes her doubt everything she’s ever been told.

With this new information, will Desiree and Darien be able to escape the Protectorate before it’s too late?


Review

Awakening was a non-stop train of twists and turns. Every chapter seemed to end with a jaw-dropping revelation that had me reading through the night. It was a really fast read, and for a college student, it was an awesome treat to be able to get through it so fast. I found Desiree, a girl after my own heart with her fairy dust freckles across her nose, to be extremely likable. She has all the normal self-consciousness like any teenage girl, but she wasn’t afraid to get sassy. I love sassy characters!

Imagine a world where you need a machine in order to sleep, even take a light afternoon nap. Imagine a world where your profession, your future husband, your life, is all mapped out by the time you are five years old. And while your doing that, imagine falling asleep every night, with the soft purr of a machine beside you, hooked up to you, as you fall into a slumber where you never have to worry about having a nightmare.

I don’t know about you, but I’m plagued by nightmares. If I could trade them for sweet and pleasant dreams, I’d make sure my name showed up twice on the top of the list to sign me right up!

A Little Background:

This dystopian future is, of course, set up to be much like a Utopia. For society The Protectorate have done nothing but good for them. They have created a society with lower crime rates, less sickness, and they have fixed that whole issue about over population. You can’t help wondering, while you read, at what lengths did the government have to go to accomplish that? A one-child world. A world where women have lost the rights to make their own decisions, where the female body is at the whim of the government. My skin crawls at the thought that someone, any body of people, dare tell me what to do with my body. I want children, as in plural. I want my children to have brothers and sisters.

But society nods their heads at the Protectorate’s job well done. Their government makes all the hard life choices for society, herding them like sheep. And sooner, rather than later for some, these same people who love their government head straight into the slaughterhouse, happy, because their death is their destiny.

People can be terminated as old as fifty-five, a ripe old age in this world, or as early as twenty-five. Can we say a life cut short?

In Reflection:

There were definitely a lot of moments in this book where I stopped and reflected the story with the world around me. We live in a world, today, where most of us don’t even get 7-8 hours of sleep a night. On average, I get four or five.

Most of us work back-breaking jobs, have mouths to feed, kids to clothe, and more money to make in order to support those responsibilities. And for you college bound, you’re worrying about your next mid-term, those sleep-defying finals, and whether you have enough financial aid to cover next semester.

When we’re not working 40 plus hours a week or cramming for the next test, we lie in bed at night, worrying about those things. We lose sleep over these things. In the morning we’re groggy, annoyed, and three steps beyond touchy. And then we have dating! Ugh! Dating? What a waste of time that is sometimes! One after another, possible candidates for our love and devotion shuffles through the doors and diminishes our hopes of ever finding that one person we feel like we’ve always been looking for.

Well, Desiree Six Haven, has been dreaming about the boy she’ll marry since she was sixteen, who’d been hand picked for her when she was born. She’s known since she was five what profession she’d be going to school for. The government ensures that she has the best dreams that soothe and calm her, into a quite submission she doesn’t even realize she’s under.

Overall:

It was a fun read 🙂 definitely something that I needed after I’ve had my mind melted this past week from my finals.


Shannon Duffy Shares Why She Thinks Sci-Fi and Dystopian Novels Are Important For Young Adults:

Why young adults need sci fi and dystopian type books?

Duffy: Well in my opinion, it’s not just young adults who need these kinds of books, but all people, no matter the age. ☺ Personally, I love sci-fi, fantasy, dystopian, and paranormal books the absolute most. Basically anything in books that can take me outside the realm of the real or current world and way of doing things, I’m probably going to like. Don’t get me wrong, I love me some contemporary too. It’s just that I think it’s such a mental holiday to escape to another world or spice things up with some magic or crazy futuristic technology, or a government that seems to have everything in perfect order, but doesn’t. It just feels so creative and a fun way to explore the impossible or unimaginable. I like to be taken to the future or even the past, or to an alternate existence and way of living. To me, it’s so creative and captivating to imagine all of the what ifs and hows? When an author can make this kind of thing feel authentic, it allows the reader to really immerse themselves into this world or way of life and follow the characters as they struggle to survive or wade through their strange dilemma they’ve found themselves in. Take me on a journey to the unusual, and I’m sold.

I hope I managed to do that with Awakening and that readers enjoy the futuristic world I’ve created. No matter how old I get, I know I’ll always love books that take me away and allow me to experience something unique.

Interested in Reading? Add it to your TBR pile 🙂

Add to Goodreads

Buy Links:

AmazonBarnes & NobleKobo Books

About the Author Shannon Duffy

shannon duffy

Author of MG and YA books full of adventure.

I grew up on the east coast of Canada in the province of Newfoundland and now live in Ontario. I love writing, reading, fashion, fitness, and traveling.

Author Links:

WebsiteGoodreadsTwitterFacebook


Enter the Giveaway! We all LOVE free stuff 🙂

Giveaway

Click on the Link for the Giveaway! And Good Luck! 🙂

Awakening Giveaway Provided By Rafflecopter


This Book Tour is hosted by: YA Bound Book Tours

YA Bound Book Tours
