Angelfall by Susan Ee

https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/P/0761463275.01._SX142_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_.jpg

Synopsis:

It’s been six weeks since the angels of the apocalypse destroyed the world as we know it. Only pockets of humanity remain.

Savage street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night.

When angels fly away with a helpless girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back…

My thoughts and rambles:

As my first review, I really want this to be completely professional and educational for anyone reading, however I can’t do that. Why? You may ask. Well, the truth is… I fell madly in love with this book. I saw it in the amazon bookstore online back in 2013 and purchased it because it was just a really good deal.

But as first loves go, it usually starts with a tickling attraction. I saw the cover and thought to myself, “That is probably one of the simplest, yet attractive, covers I’ve seen in a really long time.” So I figured, “I’ll bite.” And then, like a curious fish being lured by a worm… hook, line and sinker… I was caught.

Reel me in and fillet me, cause I’m ready!

After the first page, I was completely enthralled. Like a whirlwind I got caught up in the kick-ass heroine Penryn Young, named after a highway exit off of a California interstate by her mentally ill mother whose been talking about demons and the world apocalypse before it even hit the world.

And the apocalypse did hit, hard. But it wasn’t by the hands of the demons her mother’s been talking to all these years. It was by the hands of the good guys: the cherubs on your valentines cards, shooting arrows of love. The guardians we’d always considered to watch over us with big fluffy wings are, in fact, nothing but a bunch of block heads with muscles, destroying the world as Penryn knew it. With wings, of course, they do still have those marvelous wings.

Now, let me gush over Penryn, who is probably one of my bigger fictional girl-crushes for the past two years.

By the way, that’s really impressive. I read a crap ton of books. I read a lot of books with seriously kick-ass heroines and somehow Penryn has been at the top of that list for three years running. She’s a refreshing character who is not only able to defend herself, and hold her own in a fight, but she’s incredibly vulnerable if you really pay attention. She’s also a realist. There isn’t any delusion when it comes to her thought process.

The Action:

This is one of those books where the action packed scenes are flawless. You’re reading step by step, every punch, jab, kick, and groin hit there is. But it doesn’t feel like an instructional manual!  I know we’ve all read those books where, though we don’t admit it, but we sort of college scan read to get back to the characters. I’m not proud of it, but we need to acknowledge that in writing, most time less means more. We can get the idea and develop the scene ourselves with just a few descriptions. If you really want to engage a reader, you’ve got to make every single line mean something. And Susan Ee has perfected this.

These scene’s are so well structured because you are in Penryn’s head. You hear her every calculation, not like a step-by-step guide. Instead you almost feel like your standing right beside her like a hologram, feeling every pulse, every surge of adrenaline. Whew! The scene’s got my heart racing, my only fight or flight response engaged and ready to bull charge someone.

Romance? Maybe?

Now of course, like most YA distopian/urban fantasy novels, there is the swoon worthy love interest. Only in this book, you are never really sure if your hunk-of-burning-love is actually on Penryn’s side or if he’s pretty much the devil in disguise. So, without further ado, let me introduce Raffe, an angel.

I know! I know! Another angel-human romance? WHY?! No one likes those.

But wait! This is no Bella/Edward sort of romance. In fact, it’s not really a romance at all. Penryn and Raffe are not only worlds apart, but they don’t even really like each other. Penryn doesn’t trust him because he’s an angel, one of those supposed good guys pulverizing the world and the human race, for what seems to be no good reason at all. Only Raffe had his wings hacked off by a group of bullying angels and left for dead in the middle of the street. At the same time, those bullies have kidnapped Penryn’s sister. Penryn, needless to say, is pissed and rescues the bleeding out Raffe in order to get her sister back.

Apprehensively Penryn and Raffe team up in order to find Penryn’s sister and find someone to reattach Raffe’s wings.

(Raffe is pronounced like “Raw-feet.” Now just drop the ‘t’. Raw Fee. Very good!)

A little side-note: If you love reading crazy, clinically insane character, you are going to LOVE Penryn’s mother. That woman is an absolute HOOT! She pops in and out of the story like a crazed clown. Her presence in every scene just gave me the absolute giggles.

Final Thoughts:

I don’t want to spoil anything for anyone. So I’ll just end with a plea to anyone slightly interested in a gritty, heart pumping read, to PLEASE give Angelfall a chance. You will not be dissapointed!

I only had one issue with this book. One! Which is pretty amazing for me. The issue was that it ended. The book really isn’t that long. Yet the story doesn’t cut short. It doesn’t feel as if it was rushed to meet a certain length. She wrapped up every fray of source material and plot devices like a well fashioned wrapping on your personally delivered gift. Are there questions left unanswered? Of course! You have to have a reason to read the next book! But even if this was a stand alone, it still feels finished.

Reader’s Beware:

If you are trying to avoid a book that pretty much sucks you in and keeps you under lock and key until it’s finished. Don’t read this. Also, if you don’t want to read something that has you thinking about it weeks after finishing, don’t read this. But good for you, if you do want those things, because Susan Ee’s sequel to the trilogy came out last year, World After. Not to mention, the last book in the series, End of Days comes out May 12th 2015.

I have a countdown clock below! I check it all the time. That’s how excited I am for the final installment of this trilogy. I hope you jump on the ride, it’s mind blowing!

WARNING: This book can be extremely graphic and gory. If you do not want to read a book with guts and gore, this may not be a good choice for you. There is extreme violence as well.

One thought on “Angelfall by Susan Ee

  1. Pingback: Anticipated YA Releases (Waiting on Wednesday) | novel infatuatus

Talk to me :) I promise I don't bite.

